How to watch the IPL in the UK

How can I watch the IPL in the UK in 2021?

Cricket fans, it’s time to be bowled over again – the Indian Premier League (IPL) is back in 2021. The IPL brings together the world’s greatest talent for a tournament that’s the stuff of cricketing dreams. Whether you’re a casual viewer or an avid fanatic, discover how you can watch the IPL 2021 in the UK this spring.

What is the IPL?

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is an annual T20 (Twenty20) cricket tournament started in 2008. Twenty20 is a form of limited-overs cricket in which two teams play a single inning each. The key feature of T20 is that each team bats for a maximum of 20 overs, and the team with the most runs wins the match. 

The IPL 2021 is played by eight teams composed of players selected in a fantasy football-style auction. This year, some of the most notable players include England’s Tom Curran, Steve Smith (Australia) and Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh). 

How to watch the IPL in the UK

With pubs and other outdoor venues still under lockdown, most cricket fans will have to follow the IPL at home. In the UK, Sky Sports has the exclusive rights to broadcast the IPL until 2022. This means you’ll need to have a Sky Sports subscription to watch this year’s tournament on any of your devices. 

The best way to watch the IPL is to get a Sky Sports subscription for £25 per month. At this price, you get access to the Sky Sports Cricket channel plus: 

  • Sky Sports Main Event.
  • Sky Sports Premier League.
  • Sky Sports Football.
  • Sky Sports Golf.
  • Sky Sports F1.
  • Sky Sports Action.
  • Sky Sports Arena.
  • Sky Sports Racing.
  • Sky Sports Mix.
  • Sky Sports News.

How to watch the IPL online in the UK

If you don’t want to commit to a long-term contract, the best way to livestream the IPL online is to get a Now TV Sky Sports Month Pass. 

Although the pass costs £33.99 per month, there’s no minimum contract, meaning you can cancel your subscription after the tournament ends.  

Even better, you’ll also get access to every Sky Sports channel for the duration of the IPL.

How to listen to the Indian Premier League on the radio

If you can’t get to a TV or computer screen, another option is to follow the radio coverage. BBC Radio 5 Sports Live Extra will be broadcasting comprehensive, ball-by-ball commentary of all 60 matches of the IPL 2021. 

While radio coverage doesn’t beat watching the action live, it’s a great way of following the IPL for free if you’re in a car, on a bike or just out for a walk.

Who competes in the IPL?

Each team has a different budget to spend in the auction, based on their remaining amount after retaining players from the previous year. The eight teams in this year’s tournament are:

  • Chennai Super Kings. 
  • Delhi Capitals. 
  • Kings XI Punjab.
  • Kolkata Knight Riders. 
  • Mumbai Indians.
  • Rajasthan Royals. 
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore. 
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad. 

When is the Indian Premier League?

The IPL will take place from April 11th until June 6th 2021, in the Indian cities of Mumbai and Pune. This year’s edition of the tournament is highly anticipated due to the IPL 2020 being moved to the United Arab Emirates due to Covid-19 concerns in India.